Chapter of Distinction Awards Entries

2018 Chapter of Distinction Awards

WHO – All 21 Southern Public Relations Federation (SPRF) local chapters

  • PRCA – Birmingham, East Alabama, Mobile, Montgomery, North Alabama and West Alabama

  • PRAM – Central, Golden Triangle, Gulf Coast, Mississippi Beach, Northeast, Oxford/Ole Miss, Pine Belt, River City and Starkville/Mississippi State

  • PRAL – Acadiana, Baton Rouge, Central, New Orleans and Northwest


WHAT – Annual Chapter of Distinction Awards (includes work completed between January 1 and December 31, 2017)

WHEN – The entry deadline is Tuesday, July 31, 2018.

WHERE – All entries must be submitted via the SPRF online awards management system. Chapters will upload two PDF documents -- an entry narrative (up to 8 pages double-spaced) and a second file containing all support materials -- under the matching category. Judges will be able to view these documents online.

Fees are $25 for each category entered. Checks should be made payable to SPRF and mailed to SPRF, PO Box 3247, Tupelo, MS 38803.

Awards will be presented during the SPRF Annual Conference.

WHY – This program promotes continuous improvement in our chapters’ function, outreach and benefits to members and communities. SPRF honors the chapter that excels in several specific professional categories by awarding the Jamie Palmer Chapter of Distinction Award. In addition, SPRF will recognize excellence in leadership needed to obtain that award by recognizing the chapter’s leader as President of the Year. This competition allows chapters to use best practices in public relations planning by setting objectives in each area, developing a clear strategy and underlying tactics to achieve those objectives, and measuring success by objective.

HOW – SPRF’s Chapter of Distinction program allows local chapters to participate and win awards in eight achievement categories. Each chapter may choose to compete in any or all of the following categories.

  • Public Relations Education

  • Communication (promoting public relations externally and internally)

  • Projects

  • Chapter Management

  • Membership

  • Programs

  • Accreditation

Judging criteria is based on the four-step formal PR process: Situation Analysis, Goals/Objectives, Execution (strategies, tactics, methods) and Evaluation (measurement) as well as supporting material (collateral).

First-place and Honorable Mention winners in each category will receive an award based on place. SPRF will then recognize the most outstanding chapter for overall initiatives aimed at furthering the profession of public relations. This award will be determined by total category points awarded. Therefore, the more categories a chapter enters, the more opportunities that chapter will have to score points toward winning Chapter of Distinction. The President of the Chapter of Distinction during the contest period will be awarded the President of the Year award.